Advantage Acre users may share field viewing or editing privileges with colleagues, farm managers, advisors, dealers, customers, or other individuals involved in the farming operation. In addition to accessing the field boundary, collaborators can access and assist with field plans and activities (seed placement, fertility, crop protection, weather, etc.). Collaborators also have access to field records and analysis on shared fields.
Sharing Fields with Collaborators
Collaborators is a tab accessed from the Account menu. Fill out the required information on the left side of the Collaborators screen: Name and E-mail of the collaborator. (Figure 1) Collaborators can be given Read Only or Full Permission. Full Permission allows a collaborator to make changes to plans for the shared fields. The original creator of the field is the “owner”; if the owner of a field deletes the field, the deletion will carry over to the fields in the collaborator’s account.
Choose the fields to be shared by checking the box next to the field name. Next, click +Add Collaborator to save.
Figure 1: On the Collaborators tab, enter contact information for the collaborator, select the field(s), then click +Add Collaborator
Collaborators Receive Sharing E-mail
A notification e-mail will be sent from Advantage Acre (Figure 2) to the collaborator, with a link to accept the sharing invitation. These e-mails may get caught in a junk/spam filter; notify the collaborator to look for an e-mail from Advantage Acre.
Figure 2: Adding a collaborator will trigger an e-mail to be sent out from Advantage Acre. If the collaborator didn’t receive the e-mail, it may be in the junk/spam folder.
Collaborators Receive Notification to Access Your Field(s)
By clicking the link in the e-mail, the collaborator will be taken to the sign-in page of Advantage Acre. Here, collaborators can sign-in if they have an existing account or create a new account. Once logged into Advantage Acre, the field(s) created and shared will appear in the collaborator’s account.
Figure 3: The collaborator will be sent an e-mail with a link to the shared field(s). Clicking on the link will prompt the collaborator to sign into Advantage Acre or create an account to access the field(s).